Hardly Perfect Hostesses

7 girls learning to make life beautiful…

Home Cookin’ November 13, 2010

Filed under: Cooking — amicitaluisa @ 2:51 pm

Hey y’all, this is Amy, writing from home in Texas.  I was able to take this weekend to come home, rather than coming home for Thanksgiving, because it is a more logical time, the plane tickets were cheaper, and I had off of school for veterans day. A beautiful combination of things that have lead to a wonderful weekend with my family and friends.  One of the things that I’m doing with my mother today is learning how to cook some traditional Cuban food.  We have my Abuela here to help us with the details we are unsure of as we make Ropa Vieja, Frijoles and Tostones. Presently the beef is cooking away in the Crockpot and the beans are soaking.  I’ve been wanting to learn how to make these foods, and am glad to have this opportunity. I’ll let you know how it goes and will try to get a good picture to post.

Keep checking in with the blog, the posts should start coming more regularly as we plunge into this food filled holiday season!

Also, I want to hear from you! Do you have any foods that you associate with home? What are they and do you know how to make them?

 

Leave a comment